Ionad Deirbhile was officially opened on 13/8/97 by Her Excellency Mary Robinson, President of Ireland. The centre gives the visitor a valuable insight into the lifestyle of this area in times past. (Erris, Belmullet / Béal an Mhuirthead, Eachléim, Blacksod / Fód Dubh) In addition to an exhibition area, facilities include a coffee shop and toilets to cater for visitors and the building is wheelchair friendly. The centre houses a wealth of information relating to local folklore, archaeology, local history and an account of a former way of life for instance currach fishing, construction of old houses native to this area etc. This information is presented in both Irish and English. A unique feature of the building, which immediately catches the eye, is a 10 ft. high stain- glassed window which illustrates the story of St. Deirbhile, after whom the centre is named. This is a replica of a window found in the Pre-Norman church at Fál Mór. Central to the building is a stone fireplace and chimney breast which dates back to 1840/1860. The external walls are composed of local granite from Fál Mór, and the overall plan of the building emulates that of the traditional type of house found on the Inis Geidh Islands.
Ionad Deirbhile contains number of interesting historical artefacts. A list of these items can be found at the Museums of Mayo Website.
In recent year a vast amount of work has be focused on the Assisted Emigration from Blacksod Bay in 1883/4, and the exhibition is on show in Ionad Deirbhile.