Máire Seosaimhín Breathnach

Máire Seosaimhín Breathnach

Comhairle Cathrach & Contae Phort Láirge
Oifigí Cathartha
Dún Garbhán
Co. Phort Láirge

Tel: 076 110 2884
Mobile: 087 743 4123
Email: Send an email

On the nomination of Waterford City & County Council under the Údarás na Gaeltachta Act 2012, the Minister of State for the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands at the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht appointed Máire Seosaimhín Breathnach to the Board of Údarás na Gaeltachta in 2017 for a two year term to 14 February 2019.

Máire was born in An Seanphobal in the Déise Gaeltacht. She studied a Commerce Degree (BComm) at UCC. She works as an Oifigeach Forbartha Gaeilge (Irish Language Development Officer) for Waterford City & County Council. She began her professional career with Údarás na Gaeltachta in the Information Services Department working in public relations. She has extensive experience in developing the Irish language in the public service, in bilingual practices and organising and running Irish language events and activities.
Máire has been Director and Secretary of the Bord of Comhlucht Forbartha na nDéise CTR since its establishment and also worked as Secretary of Coiste Forbartha an tSeanphobail for a period before that. She has previously worked with Setanta Communications and the Chernobyl Children’s Project.

As outlined in paragraph 12 of the First Schedule of the Údarás na Gaeltachta Act, 1979, Údarás board members are paid fees and allowances from Údarás funds, which are determined from time to time by the Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht with the consent of the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform. These fees and rates are in accordance with those laid down by the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform for State Bodies of Category C of that Department.

As directed by the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform (2011) regarding the payment of fees to public servants who sit on state boards, this member of the Údarás Board is not paid an annual fee.