Anna Ní Ghallachair


Lárionad na Gaeilge
Ollscoil na hÉireann Má Nuad
Má Nuad
Co. Chill Dara

Tel: 01 7083682
Email: Send an email

Anna Ní Ghallachair was appointed Chairperson to the Board of Údarás na Gaeltachta in 2018 by the Minister of State for the Irish Language, the Gaeltacht and the Islands at the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht for a five-year term from 16 January 2018 to 15 January 2023. This is her second term as Chairperson of the Board of Údarás na Gaeltachta. She previously served as Chair from 20 November 2012 go 19 November 2017.

Anna is a Senior Lecturer and Associate Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Celtic Studies & Philosophy at National University of Ireland, Maynooth. She is also Centre Director of the university Language Centre. Anna has over 35 years’ experience relating to all aspects of teaching languages, including Irish, French and German. From 2010 – 2013, Anna was Chairperson of the Council of RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta.

As outlined in paragraph 12 of the First Schedule of the Údarás na Gaeltachta Act, 1979, Údarás board members are paid fees and allowances from Údarás funds, which are determined from time to time by the Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht with the consent of the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform. These fees and rates are in accordance with those laid down by the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform for State Bodies of Category C of that Department.

As directed by the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform (2011) regarding the payment of fees to public servants who sit on state boards, this member of the Údarás Board is not paid an annual fee.